From “Misery” to a “Change of Fortune” with Soul Aslyum

With “Somebody to Shove,” “Black Gold,” and especially “Runaway Train,” Soul Asylum are arguably best known for their 3x Platinum Grave Dancer’s Union. To associate this band off their 1992 breakthrough alone would be doing them a great injustice. Listen to the albums that came before it, and after it – especially their underappreciated follow-up Let Your Dim Light Shine, which could serve as a tagline for the Trump candidacy by the way. Anyway, focusing on the latter, jump to Spotify and listen to their hits “Just Like Anyone” and “Misery” and hear just how well they hold up today. Anyway, like I said, the Minneapolis-bred band aren’t a one-trick pony. As a matter of fact, they just dropped their eleventh studio album entitled Change of Fortune.

The album – their first with eOne Music – features a dozen songs that recall the past but propel the band forward. Needless to say, it’s co-produced by longtime collaborator John Fields. Anyway, we were fortunate to have frontman Dave Pirner along with guitarist Justin Sharbono on A-Sides during a recent stop in NYC. Check out two performances – including a carefree version of Misery – below and enjoy a fun, honest interview with Pirner on everything from Fortune to the 1990s rock movement.

All videos filmed by

A-Sides’ “Delve Into Twelve” Countdown
Each week A-Sides unleashes its top 12 tracks of the week AKA the “Delve Into Twelve” based on the following contributing factors: songs I’m playing out that particular week (no matter when they were released — think overlooked songs, unreleased tracks and old favorites), songs various publicists are trying to get me to listen to that I did and dug a bunch, song posts and trends I’ve noticed on my friends’ Facebook walls and, most importantly: what my toddler is currently enjoying thoroughly with an assist from my infant.

About A-Sides with Jon Chattman – :
Jon Chattman’s music/entertainment series typically features celebrities and artists (established or not) from all genres performing a track, and discussing what it means to them. This informal series focuses on the artist making art in a low-threatening, extremely informal (sometime humorous) way. No bells, no whistles — just the music performed in a random, low-key setting followed by an unrehearsed chat. In an industry where everything often gets overblown and over manufactured, Jon strives for a refreshing change. Artists featured on the series include Imagine Dragons, Melissa Etheridge, Yoko Ono, Elle King, Joe Perry, Alice Cooper, fun, Bleachers, Charli XCX, Marina and the Diamonds, and Bastille.